Home   >   Articles   >   Start the Year With a Bang! Curacao Carnival 2024

Start the Year With a Bang! Curacao Carnival 2024

by Lou-Ann Jordan Feb 5, 2024

Share this
Image by 489327 from Pixabay

Curaçao stands among several islands in the Caribbean that begin the year with a bang. Now, you may be thinking, don’t all countries start the new year with a bang or, rather, a blast? Well, in Curaçao, we do it differently. We’re not speaking of the traditional New Year’s fireworks, which we enjoy, but of Karnaval. Kòrsou Karnaval, to be exact!

Curaçao Carnival is the biggest fete on the island, and this year, it occurs from 6 January to 13 February. Once again, multitudes will take to the streets in a grand display of creativity and colour. As is traditional, the parades will feature elaborate floats, vibrant costumes and traditional characters moving energetically to the latest Tumba rhythms.

In addition to the various parades, there are many other entertaining activities for young, old and those in between to enjoy. As adults gear up for the main parade, the young can cheer their friends on at the teen pageant competition or ‘jump up’ at the Teener Carnival parade. There’s much going on this year!

Here’s a look at the official schedule of events for Curaçao Carnival 2024

Saturday 6 January 2024

  • Opening Curaçao Carnival Season

Saturday 13 January 2024

  • Youth Carnival Music, Tumba Festival

Friday 19 January 2024

  • Election of the Carnival Teen King and Queen

Saturday 20 January 2024

  • Election of the Carnival Queen, Prince, and Pancho

Monday 22 January 2024

  • Election of the Carnival Youth Queen, Prince, and Pancho

Monday 22 – Friday 26 January 2024

  • Carnival Music Festival, Tumba

Sunday 28 January 2024

  • Horses Parade

Sunday 4 February 2024

  • Youth Carnival Parade

Friday 9 February 2024

  • Teeners Carnival Parade

Saturday 10 February 2024

  • Carnival of the Bandabou region

Sunday 11 February 2024

  • Main Carnival Parade

Monday 12 February 2024

  • Youth and Teener Farewell Parade

Tuesday 13 February 2024

  • Main Farewell Parade

For more information on Curaçao Carnival 2024 and the various events taking place during the month, you can visit the Fundashon Desaroyo Karnaval Kòrsou website or Curaçao on Facebook.